top of page

Well Ahead and Kessler

During 2014/15, I helped create a “belonging” team which was a group of teachers, administrators, counselors, and psychologists that met once a month to discuss and develop district-wide measures that would help students feel a sense of connectedness and belonging. There is a need to dissolve some boundaries between feelings/emotions and school life.

When reading The Soul of Education, there were a few big ideas that jumped out at me. In the article, Kessler, spoke to the importance of nourishing the spiritual development of teens and helping them address questions like why am I here, where can I ask for help, and does anyone love me? The ground rules that were offered up, to help facilitate a safe conversation, were identical to the rules/norms that are established in community circles.

During one of our belonging team meetings, our group applied to the WELL AHEAD program, and we are now one of the 6 districts that have been accepted. This is a 5 year and 5 million dollar venture supported by the J.W. McConnell Family Foundation, and they are hoping to address and support mental wellness in youth.

Ckick here for more specific information about the Well Ahead project or

here to link to SD#48 platform.

This is the first time WELL AHEAD has ever been implemented, and the idea that was chosen to be piloted district-wide was put forward by my group. It involves implementing the circle process K-12 in Squamish, Whistler, and Pemberton. I am really excited because I am planning to use my classroom circles, and restorative justice circles as one avenue for data collection. The WELL AHEAD project is the perfect complement for my inquiry, has a larger platform i.e SD #48/across Canada, and will be continuing into my “11th” semester.


Follow The Sea to Sky Alternative School
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page