top of page

BC Curriculum and Implementation

I teach Math 10, Science 10, and English 10 which all come with the “big hurdle” of the daunting provincial exam. I have a unique position where I teach the grad track courses with provincial exams and draft curriculum, but I also teach grade 8 and 9 courses that are in the early phases of implementing the new curriculum. To even further complicate things, my cross curricular class is blended with a range of ages and abilities.

I was selected to go to a three day symposium in Whistler, at the Lil’Wat Culture Center, where the Sea to Sky District leadership team, board trustees, elected union members, parents, and elders came together to plan and develop the first of two curriculum implementation days.

As one of the co-facilitators for the first high school curriculum day held in SD# 48, I encouraged my colleagues to take ownership of this process.The redesign of curriculum maintains a focus on sound foundations of literacy, numeracy, and honours the way students think, learn, and grow. I think that is is hugely important that the curriculum implementation days are designed to support teachers/adult learners and allow for teacher autonomy and professionalism.

BC teachers need to use these days to look forward to where we want to go. I think it is crucial that high school teachers take the opportunity to provide some kind and specific feedback to the ministry. As informed professionals, BC teachers need to acknowledge what is working, and look at what we can specifically enhance in regards to the curriculum. This is best practice.


Follow The Sea to Sky Alternative School
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page